What types of birds cannot fly?

Everyone one knows what a bird this is so obvious, right? If you ask a seven year old kid what a bird is, the kid will respond with something like, ‘a bird is animal that has two feet, spine, wings, hollow bones and it can fly.’ This is some of the characteristics that everyone probably thinks of when it comes to birds that is it has wings and it can fly. But of course it is imperative to mention at this point that not all birds that cannot fly. Someone might ask, what types of birds cannot fly? There are quite a number of birds that cannot fly but we are going to look at some of the most popular flightless birds in this piece.

  1. Ostrich

This is one of the largest bird and it tops the list and very rightly so. Other than being the largest it weighs about 145 kg, its egg is the largest among all birds with a diameter of 5 inches and weighing up to 3 pounds. This bird has small fluffy wings, which cannot help the bird to take off but it has sturdy legs that makes it to sprint at a speed of about 43mph faster than any other land bird. Ostrich stands at height of about 9 feet tall and have a lifespan of 30 to 40 years.

  1. Penguin

Another type of flightless birds is penguins, without any uncertainty there are the most famous birds t mankind. They are aquatic in nature and they are usually found in the Southern Hemisphere, Antarctica. This bird is small black with white parches and a yellow tummy, everyone knows about this bird due to the numerous films made on them. They weigh 35 kg and stand about 3 feet tall on an average. Their wings look like flippers something that makes them swim with ease on water. They feed by hunting their prey underwater but they raise offspring on dry land.

  1. Kiwi

Kiwis are classified as endangered species of birds and mostly they are found in New Zealand. Kiwis are wingless thus they cannot be able to fly at all. They roots can be traced from the ancient group of flightless birds, which were famously known as ratites. They have nostrils at their beaks and hair like feathers. The size of their egg is also enormous. Kiwis are nocturnal and scrounge the floor of forest in search of small invertebrates, seeds, fruits and worms that they feed on. In total, they are about five species of kiwi and they are national symbol of New Zealand.

  1. Emu

Emus are another type of flightless birds that are primarily found in Australia, and are the ratites group second largest members. They are similar to ostrich on their physical looks and features. They have an average height of about 5 to 6 feet these flightless birds do not have large and fluffy wings. They have small vestigial wings that they flutter while running to achieve stability.

Finally, it is important to mention that earth has a lot of mind boggling creatures and each play a key role in the ecology. These flightless birds that are discussed above shows immense diversity and they cannot be regarded as those species that are disadvantaged.




Thanks to this Well Pump Repair Jacksonville FL for sponsoring our post today!